Klinov vs hk 2006.05.29

July 11, 2006 at 8:59 pm | Posted in Chess | 3 Comments

A bad loss on my part with some real blunders. Enjoy.

1. e4 c5
2. Nc3 Nf6
I really should have stayed conservative here and played d6. I have no business trying to play the Accelerated Dragon, no matter how cool the name sounds.

klinov_hk_001.jpg

3. e5 Nd5 ??
My opponent goes out of book with e5 and my response is horrible. Better would have been a retreat with Nd8, however I have chosen to give away my Knight.

klinov_hk_002.jpg

4. Nxd5 e6
5. Nc3 d6
Five moves into the match and my pawn struction is soon ready to go to hell in a handbasket.

6. exd6 Qxd6
At this point I have no minor pieces developed and my Queen is naked on d6.

klinov_hk_003.jpg
7. Nf3 Nc6
8. d3 Qc7
9. Be2 Bd6
Both players ready to castle.

klinov_hk_004.jpg

10. Be3 Bd7
11. O-O O-O-O
Even with the inherent weakness on my King side, I believe I should have castled there.

12. Nb5
Forking my Bishop and Queen. A great sadness overwhelms me.

klinov_hk_005.jpg

12. . . . Qa5
13. Nxd6+ Kb8
On my heels.

klinov_hk_006.jpg

14. Nxf7
Another piece lost by this valiant Knight. Another fork.

klinov_hk_007.jpg

14. . . . Rhf8
15. Nxd8 Nxd8
My first capture of a minor piece, but alas I should have moved Rxd8. My Knight is now far from the action as I am about to get punished.

klinov_hk_008.jpg

16. d4 Rf7
All hands on deck, ’cause this ship is going down.

17. Ne5
Another fork.

klinov_hk_009.jpg
17. . . . Re7
Another futile move.
18. dxc5 b6
Would not Be8 or Bb6 be better at this point? I don’t know because my head is so far up my ass right now.

19. Nxd7+ Kc7
And the great thing about Correspondence Chess, you can resign any time. Black Resigns.

klinov_hk_010.jpg

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can’t say much about the accelerated dragon but about the sicilian in general I tend to think most people play it totally out of book very quickly. To be honest I don’t think it’s worth me putting in the time to really study it until I get near to my target, if I could stop losing won positions I’d be alot closer to 1800 than 1600.
    Some questions i have about the game, was it a fast time control? Recently I have found that G15 is too fast for me now,

  2. Forgot to add this link to an example where black gets confused in the sicilian:
    http://www.chesscafe.com/skittles/skittles.htm

    The game Lobron (2515) v Schulz (2395) shows that even international standard guys have a hard time in it, it makes me wonder whether playing it sub 2000 is that great and idea

  3. Sadly it was 3 days per move.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

